Extra! Extra! Read all about it! Community Raises $21.1M in support of United Way


On Thursday, February 24, 2011, United Way held the Annual Awards of Distinction – Red Tie Gala.  This event is the organziation's opportunity to say thank you to the many donors and volunteers who do so much for this community throughout the year.

The Edmonton EXPO Centre was abuzz with people decked out in their finest red apparel, accessories or footwear.  It was a fantastic evening – with wonderful food, company and donor recognition and appreciation.

Emcees for the evening were 630 CHED’s morning show man, Mr. Bruce Bowie and Citytv’s very own Bridget Ryan, co-host of BT Edmonton.  Special greetings were delivered from; Mayor Stephen Mandel, The Honourable A.Anne McLellan 2010 United Way Campaign Chair and Dale Mulek, Director of Finance, Telus Edmonton and the 2010 United Way Board Chair.

Mayor Mandel accepts award from Anne McLellan on behalf of Edmonton Civic Employees' Charitable Assistance FundEvening highlights included awards presentations, special United Way event video features and acknowledgement of the outstanding community support shown by the Alberta Capital Region.  Of significance during the evening was Campaign Chair Anne McLellan revealing the total achievement for the 2010 campaign – the largest amount ever raised in the nearly 70 year history of United Way, $21.1 million dollars.   This is an increase of $500,000.00 over the 2009 achievement.

Anne Smith, President and CEO of United Way, Alberta Capital Region, presented the prestigious Award of Excellence to Enbridge Pipelines, describing their outstanding support to United Way and community.  Kind, caring, appreciative and generous – it’s the foundation of their corporate culture, it’s demonstrated by their corporate leadership and it’s how they, as individuals, choose to help create a better community for everyone.” 

During his address to the audience, Dale Mulek, Director of Finance, Telus Edmonton and 2010 United Way Board Chair, announced the incoming Campaign Chairs for the next two years.  United Way Campaign Chair for 2011 is Dr. Michael Percy, Stanley A. Milner Professor and Dean, School of Business University of Alberta.  Dave Mowat, President and CEO of ATB Financial, has been named as 2012 United Way Campaign Chair.

For a full list of 2010 Chair and Spirit Award recipients, pick up a copy of this Sunday’s edition of the Edmonton Journal and look for our special advertising feature, generously sponsored by United Way supporter and friend, the Edmonton Journal.

Congratulations and thank you to everyone for supporting your community through United Way!